Core Wisdom: Compassion & Ferocity

I choose compassion because I want others to be happy and not to suffer. That is the intelligent way to live. Not that I am infallible, but I strive. Kindness and compassion are also a matter of enlightened self-interest. They bring mutual happiness to both oneself and others. But do not mistake kindness for idiot compassion. Idiot compassion is thinking you must always be gentle. No, compassion requires fierceness at times. Remember, Jesus drove the money changers from the temple with a whip, not a limp piece of lettuce.

JTR,

September 9, 2020

One Response to “Core Wisdom: Compassion & Ferocity”

  1. In the top five must-read books list: read Necessary Illusions, The Hero With A Thousand Faces, Walden, On Civil Disobedience, The Ecology of Freedom, and Escape From Freedom, before you die – and, I would urge, before the year ends. They are that important, and that timely as well.

    Like

Leave a comment