A Bodhisattva’s Love

A conversation related, between a Bodhisattva friend and another:

Q: “So, what do you do for fun?”

A: “I help people.”

Q: “No, what do you do for fun?”

A: “I help people.”

Q: “No, I mean, what do you do for fun?”

A: “I help people.”

I love it. Says it all. And I can sympathize. There is nothing more joyful, more rewarding, or more  interesting.

Spare me the “entertainment.” It does nothing for me. Making even a small positive difference in one person’s life, however, is joyous.

Mind you, a good sound track to go with it, always makes it even better. I do love my rock and roll – and jazz, and blues, and classical….

Chasing money, possessions, fame, status, the praise of others, “success” – boring in the infinite measure: flat, banal, utterly uninspiring, dull beyond words: can we say more? Why bother?

Give me a loaf of bread, a jug of wine, and thou…. (Keats, you are a kindred soul.) So long as I can live a meaningful life – which, to me, means helping others, in whatever small ways I can – I feel more than blessed.

JTR,
February 18, 2014

 

2 Responses to “A Bodhisattva’s Love”

  1. It’s not my first time to pay a quick visit
    this site, i am browsing this web page dailly and obtain good data from here every day.

  2. Lovely : ))

Leave a Reply

