Simple pleasures and the greatest of treasures

Ok, it’s that time. Time to put down the pen, or in this case, the keyboard; start cooking dinner – very slowly, for maximum flavour – and cut the grass in the golden sun of the late afternoon… And, crank up the rock and roll on the wireless headphones! Whoo-hoo! After a satisfying and truly joyful day of research and writing, there is little better, to my mind. Then it’s off to yoga to make my body, as well as my mind and heart, feel even more amazing.

Man: a half-decent stereo, wireless headphones, and some books – I could happily live in a grass hut and a loin cloth, so long as I have these three things.

And I guess a solar panel or two to power the stereo would be handy. If I were to get really elaborate and lavish, I’d throw in a laptop and satellite dish for internet connections, but that’s really sheer luxury, and a luxury I could easily do without. Pen and paper work just fine.

Materialism is hollow and unsatisfying, but I must admit, I would be saddened to lose my music and my books. These are truly great treasures.

You can take all the glitz and glitter, the bells and whistles and baubles and trinkets and toys. Just leave me my music, my books, and my peace of mind, and I will be more than happy. Happier, I would contend, than most who live in great sprawling homes, palaces and mansions, for they are owned and enslaved by their possessions and their fear, more often than not.

I am blessed with abundance at present, but I realize the truth of impermanence, and I also know where the true treasures lie, and the greatest of these lie within.

JTR

Leave a Reply

